How to Delete Suggested Email Contacts in Mail on iPhone

Article Spotlight

We’ve been busy at iPhone Life creating new guides and updating our existing ones. With all the ongoing changes to the latest iPhone operating system, we’ve been updating our guides with fresh steps, videos, and screenshots! The Reminders App is a core app for iPhone users, and the 2022 Guide update is available to help you staying on top of your goals and responsibilities. This updated in-depth guide is available exclusively to iPhone Life Subscribers later this month.

Video

Considerations for Email Account Removal

Before you remove an email account, evaluate the implications.

Deleting an Email Account Removes all Emails From the iPhone

IMAP, POP, and Exchange, as well as accounts configured with automatic settings (such as Gmail, Outlook.com, and iCloud Mail), will have all content wiped from the iPhone—iOS Mail removes all emails and folders listed and created under the account. ​​In other words, you’ll no longer see messages in the Mail app.

Deleting an Email Account From the iPhone Doesn't Delete the Account

When an email account is deleted from an iPhone, the email account and address remain unchanged. You can still receive and send emails on the web or in other email programs set up to use the email account.

Deleting an Email Account Doesn't Delete the Emails From the Server

For IMAP and Exchange accounts, nothing changes on the server or in any other email program set up to access the same account. iPhone Mail stops accessing the messages and folders, and you are no longer able to send email from the account using that app. Nothing changes for POP accounts either.

With POP, the iPhone may be the only place where emails are stored. This is the case if iOS Mail is set up to delete emails from the server after downloading them and the messages have not been saved anywhere else.

Deleting Calendars and Other Features of Your Account

Deleting an email account from an iPhone also removes calendars, notes, to-do items, and contacts that use this account. ​If you want access to those features, disable only the email for that account.

How to Turn Off Notifications Only

You can also disable automatic mail checking or notifications for the account. Then you can receive and send messages from the account, but it remains hidden from sight and out of the way.

To turn off automatic mail checking for an account on an iPhone:

  1. ​In the Settings app, scroll down and select Mail > Accounts.

  2. Tap Fetch New Data.

  3. Choose the email account.

  4. Select Manual. To find the Manual option on older versions of iOS, tap Select Schedule.

Recent Posts

Mark All As Read

For those using Apple’s mail app to monitor and control their Gmail account, there are a few things you can do to get rid of the red blob and constant reminder that you have a lot of emails.

You can mark all as read using the app:

  1. Open the Mail app on your phone.
  2. Tap Edit in the upper right-hand corner.Tap Select All in the upper left-hand corner.
  3. Tap Select All in the upper left-hand corner.At the bottom, select Mark.
  4. At the bottom, select Mark.A menu will appear with the “Flag” and
  5. A menu will appear with the “Flag” and Mark as Read options – Tap Mark as Read.

Although this doesn’t delete your emails, it does remove the red notification.

Archive instead of delete

Instead of deleting emails, you can archive them in the Archive mailbox.

  1. Go to Settings  > Mail, then tap Accounts.

  2. Do one of the following:

    • If you’re using an iCloud email account: Tap iCloud, tap iCloud again, scroll to the bottom of the list, then tap Mail.

    • If you’re using another email account: Tap your email provider, then tap your email account.

  3. Tap Advanced, then change the destination mailbox for discarded emails to the Archive mailbox.

When this option is turned on, to delete an email instead of archiving it, touch and hold , then tap Trash Message.

Deleting All Emails on Gmail on a Desktop

Now, this is where things get easy. The desktop or web version of Gmail includes a very convenient way of removing all the unwanted emails in no time. Let’s take a look at how it works.

  1. Open Gmail in your web browser.
  2. Go to the folder from which you want to remove all emails.
  3. Click on the Select All checkbox in the top right corner of the screen. You’ll have selected all the emails on the page. To select all emails in the folder, go to Select all XXX conversations in Folder.Click the trash can icon to move the selected emai
  4. Click the trash can icon to move the selected emails into the Trash Folder.

If you don’t have too many folders, it shouldn’t take long to delete all of your Gmail emails one folder at a time. Everything you do on the desktop version of Gmail will automatically sync with the app on all your devices, which happens the next time you open the app when there’s an internet connection.

Warnings

  • Your Apple ID email will not always be the same as your iCloud email address, and it could be any email that you’ve used to sign up for your Apple ID. You have to change your Apple ID email first, if you want to remove this email address from your iMessage app.

    Thanks! Helpful Not Helpful 1

Advertisement

Related coverage from How To Do Everything: Tech:

Dave Johnson Freelance Writer Dave Johnson is a technology journalist who writes about consumer tech and how the industry is transforming the speculative world of science fiction into modern-day real life. Dave grew up in New Jersey before entering the Air Force to operate satellites, teach space operations, and do space launch planning. He then spent eight years as a content lead on the Windows team at Microsoft. As a photographer, Dave has photographed wolves in their natural environment; he’s also a scuba instructor and co-host of several podcasts. Dave is the author of more than two dozen books and has contributed to many sites and publications including CNET, Forbes, PC World, How To Geek, and Insider. Read more Read less

Tags

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.